Heat and dust greeted riders for Round 8 of the 2010 NCHSA Championship Series held at the Brown Jug track in Union, South Carolina. With the high hovering around 92 degrees, a heat index that made it feel like it was around 100 degrees, and the insane dust, just finishing the race was no easy task.

With the GNCC, Mid-East and SETRA series’ on break, the only other offroad race in the southeast this weekend was the SORCS race in Hiawassee, Georgia. This helped bring out a few extra riders who were brave enough to challenge themselves against the South Carolina terrain. Among them, GNCC XC2 riders Jesse Robinson and Steward Baylor.

When the green flag dropped on the morning Pro/A/B race Steward Baylor jumped out to an early lead over Jesse Robinson in second, Corey Macdonald third, TJ Snow in fourth and Trevor Connell rounding out the top 5. However, on the second lap Jesse Robinson made the move and took the overall lead. Jesse held onto the overall lead for the remainder of the race to take the Overall win.

Steward Baylor stayed in second for the rest of the day followed by Corey Macdonald in third. Trevor Connell climbed to fourth in the overall followed by Bryan Henson in fifth, Matthew Pressley in sixth, Greg Reynolds seventh, Wes Keller eighth, Trevor Barrett ninth and Brett Compton in tenth. Brett also won the AA class followed by Glenn Drum and Chris Gosselin. Dylan Bean took the 250-A class win, Michael Collins was your Open-A class winner, Travis Walker won the Vet-A class, Mike Kowalsky took first in Senior-A, Rafe Laws took the top spot in 250-B, Caleb Garrow topped the 200-B class, Logan Cooke won the Open-B class,  Mark Wooters took the Masters-A win and Chase Bollinger was the Sportsman class winner.

In the Afternoon race Matt Wainscott won the Vet-B class, Tom McDonell took the Senior-B class win, the Masters-B class win went to Chris Carmichael, Scott Kinkaid won the Masters-C class, Michael Kennedy was your Heavy-C class winner, Patrick Cappetta topped the Light-C class, Travis Harvey and Matt Guy were your winners in the Vet-C classes, Peter Weiss and Keith O’Toole took the wins in the Senior-C classes while Camden Lane and Jason Cooper won the Unlimited classes.

Congratulations to all the riders who fought through the heat and dust. The NCHSA will host a few more races through the summer while a lot of other series are on break. If you’re looking for a race to do this summer, come on out to one and challenge yourself against the heat. You never know who might show up!